Gentoo Archives: gentoo-dev-announce

From: "Jorge Manuel B. S. Vicetto" <jmbsvicetto@g.o>
To: Gentoo NFP <gentoo-nfp@l.g.o>
Cc: gentoo-dev-announce@l.g.o
Subject: [gentoo-dev-announce] Foundation 2011 election
Date: Thu, 10 Feb 2011 22:26:02
1 Dear Gentoo Foundation members,
3 We've come again to that time of the year when we need to cast our
4 votes for the Foundation. The Gentoo Foundation[2] is now opening an
5 election to fill the 2 seats in the Trustees that have reached the end
6 of their 2 years term, Mathew Summers (quantumsummers) and Robin H.
7 Johnson (robbat2), and for the seat filled by Joshua Jackson (tsunam)
8 as he has announced his retirement from the Trustees.
10 [1] -
11 [2] -
13 The nomination period starts tomorrow, 20110211 0000UTC and lasts
14 until Thursday 20110310 2359 UTC. The election polls will be open from
15 Saturday 20110312 0000UTC to Friday 20110408 2359UTC. The elected
16 trustees will start their term after the results are published and
17 before their first meeting on April 17th.
19 The election officials for this election will be Patrick Lauer[3],
20 Jorge Manuel B. S. Vicetto[4] and Alec Warner[5]. All officials will
21 keep a daily presence in #gentoo-trustees and #gentoo-elections for
22 the duration of the election. You can reach all the officials for this
23 election at the elections[6] alias.
24 The election officials will publish a page with all information about
25 this election that will be available from the Foundation Archives[7].
27 [3] - patrick@g.o
28 [4] - jmbsvicetto@g.o
29 [5] - antarus@g.o
30 [6] - elections@g.o
31 [7] -
33 To nominate a candidate, join the gentoo-nfp[8] mailing list. Trustee
34 nominations are open to the public; voting is limited to eligible
35 voters[10]. Send all your nominations, acceptances and feedback to the
36 gentoo-nfp list[9]. Be sure to check if you're listed on the list of
37 members for this election[10].
39 [8] -
40 [9] -
41 [10] -
43 If you're a current Gentoo Developer, to cast your vote for this
44 election you need to login to and run the following
45 commands, in the specified order.
47 * votify --new trustees-201102 - This creates a new ballot in your homedir.
48 * Edit the .ballot-trustees-201102 file and rank the candidates in
49 the desired order of preference.
50 * Once you're sure, run votify --verify trustees-201102 to check
51 the validity of the ballot.
52 * If that goes through fine, the next and final step is to submit
53 your vote using votify --submit trustees-201102
54 * In case you're stuck, detailed help can be accessed by using
55 votify --help or feel free to drop by #gentoo-elections on IRC. If you
56 think you are eligible to vote, but cannot, please contact one of the officials.
57 * Grab a beer, have fun, sit back and enjoy the show ... till we
58 announce the results ;)
60 If you're not a current Gentoo Developer, please send your ballot to
61 the officials[6] alias and don't forget to sign the email with your
62 gpg key on record in the Foundation member list[10].
64 I'd like to take this chance to warn all foundation members that since
65 the last Foundation Bylaws update, any member of the Foundation loses
66 his membership after not voting for 2 consecutive Foundation
67 elections. This means that any members that joined the Foundation
68 before the 2009 election and that didn't vote for that election will
69 lose their membership if they don't vote in this election.
70 If you have any doubts about this point, please contact the Trustees
71 or the election officials.
73 If you have any doubts about the election or any corrections to the
74 page and lists, contact the election officials.
77 PS - I take the full blame for the election being opened later than
78 expected, but I was out at FOSDEM and haven't got back home yet.
80 For the election officials,
82 ---
83 Regards,
85 Jorge Vicetto (jmbsvicetto) - jmbsvicetto at gentoo dot org
86 Gentoo- forums / Userrel / Devrel / KDE / Elections


Subject Author
[gentoo-dev-announce] Re: Foundation 2011 election - 20 hours left for nomination "Jorge Manuel B. S. Vicetto" <jmbsvicetto@g.o>