> On Aug 10, 2005, at 24:42, Grobian wrote:
>> | Note: With each emerge --sync, the /usr/portage directory is wiped of
>> | any user changes. Be sure to keep a log of your development efforts
>> | and report your findings to the Gentoo for Mac OS X team.
>> Ehm, is this really true? I vaguely remember in my first days doing
>> this thinking a sync would wipe out my mess, then coming to the
>> conclusion it didn't. I don't know exactly how rsync is being called,
>> but if a file is newer on the target host, than on the server, is it
>> overwritten? I thought rsync is able to optimise by only beaming over
>> the changed files on the server side, preventing copying all of the
>> files (550MB currently). Somebody slap me with the man page and the
>> massive number of options supplied to rsync when running emerge sync
>> if I see ghosts here...
> AFAIK, yes. Any time I've made changes to /usr/portage and then did a
> sync, regardless of whether or not there was an actual update to that
> file in the meanwhile, my changes were overwritten.
> Feel free to attack me with a medium-sized herring if I'm completely
> wrong in throwing in said <note>. I just thought that note would be a
> nice thing to have in there for anyone who was confused at this
> functionality. If anyone feels as though it shouldn't be there, please
> let me know and I'd be glad to remove it.
I'm just unsure about it. It think it would be best to anyhow
disencourage people to mess with their /usr/portage/ (shoot no, auto
completion here ;)). I learnt it somehow the hard way that it is not
'handy' to hack that tree ;)
/me mumbles something about lost sources, etc...
eBuild && Porting
Gentoo for Mac OS X
email@example.com mailing list